Winter’s miracle

As a child growing up in the South I always felt winter was cheating me out of something.  Storybooks and magazines told me that winter was full of snow and snow activities.  TV shows and movies showed wonderful scenes of snow on the land and draped over the trees, with kids sledding and building snowmen.  I looked outside and asked, “where’s my snow?”  Only infrequently would snow fall and even more rarely stick to the ground in mass enough to enjoy.  Perhaps I was born to the wrong part of the country?

Since then we’ve lived where snow is a normal part of winter and I’ve come to enjoy all the activities I once dreamed of doing.  I’m one of those people who revels when the snow starts falling, who can’t wait for the ground to be covered, who stands outside and catches snow on my sleeves to see the flakes.  Snow is God’s way of telling us to slow down, so why not do so and enjoy winter?

This winter I’ve decided to photograph snow in all it’s glory, from the large landscapes to  individual flakes.  I haven’t gone so far as setting up a microscope (yet) because my 50mm macro and Photoshop let me see enough detail.  It’s fun to see how the weather affects snowflake shape and conformation, even though it means some snow days just don’t offer the classic 6-point star.  Here are a couple of pictures from the last day or so.  I keep looking for the really sharp pointed versions but according to my research our temperature and humidity is rarely suitable for those traditional Christmas card snowflakes.

Speaking of pointing a camera toward winter’s glory, a photographer I went to school with last year has a few snowy pictures on his website, forest landscapes and other scenes from the winter outdoors.  He lives further south than me so it’s probably rare he gets to photograph snow in his area.  The images he creates are well crafted, with snow or not, so I’m sure he’s taking advantage of this unusual winter season to make memorable photographs.  You can see his work here.  I think you’ll enjoy his scenes from around the plains and mountains.

Leave a Reply

