Photo travel blues

One more entry on that list of  good intention thoughts has to be “I’ll continue my blog while traveling.”  Oh, yeah. Sure.  With my schedule?!

Up to catch the good sunrise, out until the good sunset is done.  Download and backup images.  Keyword, metadata and rank images while the information and experience is fresh in  your mind.  Go to sleep to repeat the next day.

Who has time to write a blog entry with that kind of schedule?  Even when you see something on your computer screen you didn’t think possible from your gear and skills.  Yes, there are photographers out there diligently keeping their blog refreshed each day with astounding photos and marvelous prose.  I wonder sometimes if they aren’t just saving up material and doling it out a day at a time?  Or living more of a caffeinated life than I am…..

Then of course there are the places where Internet access is, shall we say, somewhat limited?  Try getting a signal in the mountains of western Idaho.

We just wrapped up a big loop trip to photograph Glacier National Park, the Palouse region of eastern Washington, Craters of the Moon National Monument, and Yellowstone National Park.  And as much of the intervening scenery and roadside treasures we could find time for.  Oh, and a reunion of a few of my RMSP classmates where we got to see if we are improving our images (the answer is a solid yes!).  All in all it was a great trip of learning more about the landscapes of our country and improving skills to “see” more like a camera every day.

Of course it means for the near future there will be an unending stream of landscape photos, both digital and film, with appropriate color commentary.  Sort of like this:

MacDonald Valley below Logan Pass, Glacier NP - 5 image HDR

You’ll be seeing quite a bit of HDR in coming posts.  First, I’m continuing to learn how to use it and make images that are more “natural” looking and second, low angle light is wonderful for illuminating textures and casting interesting shadows like the scene above but it usually means there are really bright and not so bright portions of the image.  Much of the trip I had my camera solidly set to 5 image exposure bracketing to capture a wide dynamic range; sometimes I would make an exposure adjustment and shoot another 5 images, giving me 10 exposures of the same composition to play with.  I really paid attention to shadow details on this trip, intending to ensure I had enough exposures with bright enough shadows to pull out the detail without muddy colors.

Most days in Glacier NP the sky was more clouds than blue but on a couple the sun peeked through at the beginning or end of the day and we just were in the right place at that time.  I swear you could just set up your tripod at one spot in Glacier and simply photograph one composition all day and get some really astounding images as the weather and light changes.  Anyone out there have that kind of patience?

4 thoughts on “Photo travel blues

  1. Interesting to hear how you got on, I try to post roughly edited favourites when I’m in the Lake District but have suffered from poor internet availability/slow connections, which drive me nuts. For my forthcoming trip to India I had decided not to bring a laptop and external hard drives for uploading images, travelling light by keeping images on chips and uploading them once home, but I forgot about blogging. I should imagine moving from place to place each day it will be difficult to blog anyway, plus it will give me something to do in cold and wet December when I get home. Looking forward to seeing some of your images.

    Like

    • My colleagues who travel to India quite a bit find no internet problems in the cities so probably depends on where you will be staying. I would certainly want to pay more attention to what I’m seeing than dealing with technology!

      Like

Leave a Reply

