A walk interrupted, intentionally

ISO 100, 78mm, 1/1000 sec., f/2

ISO 100, 78mm, 1/1000 sec., f/2

Stare at enough scenes of the American southwest and you begin to think the world is composed of irregularly shaped, warm color landscapes.  And maybe much of it is.  But this is not Arizona or New Mexico or southern Utah – this is a fallen tree trunk being lit by the afternoon sun.  I liked how the surface texture, seen up close, resembled the terrain captured in hundreds of images from out west.  Much as a universe exists in a raindrop there is a world just around our feet if we take the time to look for it.

 

ISO 100, 50mm, 1/80 sec., f/8

ISO 100, 50mm, 1/80 sec., f/8

Sometimes around our feet can be measured in hundreds of yards.  For this scene I’m standing on a very tall bluff overlooking Lake Michigan, just south of Milwaukee.  I liked the curvature of the beach leading to the groins that suddenly recede in linear fashion around the point of land.  And between each groin is a small curve of beach depositing by the lake as it tries to wash Wisconsin’s shoreline toward Chicago.  The waves give me a nice texture in the water’s surface and some breakers against the narrow pebbly ledge beneath the bluffs.

Both images made while just walking around, no particular scene in mind.  It’s one reason I enjoy being an outdoor photographer.  Your pressure is not other people’s time or the urgency of an event’s frantic action, but rather a sense of light and openness to what you see and what it can become in the viewfinder.

7 thoughts on “A walk interrupted, intentionally

    • When I start complaining there’s nothing to photograph I try and force myself to simply stop right where I’m standing and look closely at what’s around. Invariably I spot something that needs more investigation and suddenly a picture appears.

      Like

  1. Dear Mel,
    the contrast of the two pictures is intiguing. Very interesting. Thank you very much for sharing and thanks a lot for commenting on my blog I really appreciate 🙂
    Greetings from the sunny coast of North Norfolk
    Klausbernd

    Like

  2. Your blog is great! You have very inspiring pics and your words opens my eyes to different views and interpretations of my surroundings. Thanks a lot for sharing! 🙂
    Have a lovely day.
    Greetings from sunny Norfolk inn England
    Dina

    Like

    • One of my photography classmates lives in England and it’s always fun to see their part of the world. As with your photos it interests me how landscape can look different just based on the photographer’s culture and background. Maybe we need a project to send landscape photographers to another country for a month or so just to see how they view it differently from the natives!

      Like

Leave a comment