Glad to see that spring didn’t forget us this year

Seasons are definitely changing now.  The landscape is undeterred by the whipsawing of temperatures up and down – plants have work to do getting flowers out and the thermometer isn’t slowing them down.

Even though I was wandering around looking for spring I did take a moment to try a compositional challenge.  Neurobiologists tell photographers our brains are wired to almost instantly pick out the human figure or face in an image; we can’t help ourselves.  As such, many outdoor photographers are urged to include people in their compositions, either for scale or for perspective or just for that human touch most landscape photographers don’t get the importance of having in their carefully crafted images (“Ansel never put people in his images!”).  I don’t know – should we be arguing with millions of years of evolution?  You be the judge – which of the following is more interesting?   And why?

4 thoughts on “Glad to see that spring didn’t forget us this year

  1. You pose a difficult challenge, Mel. I hesitate to choose and fear I may be overanalyzing the question, but I prefer the first one, the one with the two people walking (a father and daughter, perhaps). Why? I often like photos that tell a story and I can create a whole scenario about those two people. I like too how their movement from left to right adds a kind of dynamic element to the scene (yes, the moving water has the element of motion, but it’s not the same). The challenge would have been different if you had zoomed in on the people and cut away some of the elements of the scenery and forced us to choose between the scenery and the people, but that was not the case here. I’ll have to think about this a bit more and see if I change my mind.

    Like

    • No need to overthink, Mike. I think you hit it with your comments – people bring story to an image better than static features. Rarely do I put people in my images but having them there does humanize the scene. Thanks for your thoughts.

      Like

  2. Lovely composition re dof for the fern. Now if you just put the people in the second shot…(I prefer the lighting and composition in the second, but the people are a nice touch). Glad you’ve got some new locations to play with.

    Like

    • Kate, I agree the second image lighting is better – it was composed with that in mind. The image with the people was almost a snapshot since I saw the opportunity to post this very question. The ferns were great – a whole shady field of them just emerging. Really like the detail of what’s in focus and the soft out-of-focus areas.

      Like

Leave a Reply

