Return to the basics

I finally gathered up all the exposed film sitting around in the freezer and took it over to the local studio/lab I found on the web.  Haven’t had to send my sheet film off to a distant lab so far after these few years learning how to use it so I was very happy to find someone in town who processes it.  My first round turned out very nice (they even processed my 5×7 Velvia, an unusual size) so I expect to finally get back to film this year.

Didn’t really know what these images were – been too long ago since I made them – so it was a nice surprise to see what I’d done.  Looks like I was trying to learn how to use flash with my view camera, tricky because there is no trigger for a flash on such an old camera.  Apparently I set up my scene, turned off the lights, opened the shutter and then fired the flash manually.  I must be getting good with a light meter because these really turned out better than I expected.

Kodak Ektachrome 100G, 4×5″ slide

Kodak Ektachrome 100g, 4×5″ slide

Fuji Velvia 50, 5×7″ slide

6 thoughts on “Return to the basics

Leave a Reply

