Glorious grey…

Woke up this morning to see snow on the ground for the first time.  At least for a bit – the ground is too warm for snow to hang around and in an hour or so it was gone.  Still, a nice reminder to be prepared to start seeing the world in black and white.

Went out for a bit to get my monochrome-vision recharged.  Very helpful that the overcast was like a giant softbox for the sun to evenly illuminate everything on my stroll.  Gave myself a single lens challenge – just take one and compose everything with it.  To make it more interesting I took a film camera lens, the Zuiko 35-80mm f/2; manual everything.  Ok, ok, I know a zoom probably shouldn’t count as a single lens but I really didn’t know what to expect so I gave myself some latitude.  Besides, I love the sharpness of this lens and really enjoy showing off what it can do.

Good time of the year for textures of all kinds, and a Zone System challenge deciding how to allocate exposures to get the most detail with an interesting subject.  Adams used the Zone System to think about an image from composition to final print but I think he’d be good with digital display as the final showing for an image.

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA

 

Leave a Reply

